Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 3 (Ew!) and AVGN

I’ve posted plenty about the Angry Video Game Nerd.  However, this isn’t just a review of the AVGN’s review of the 3rd Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle movie.  It’s a glimpse back at the entire series, and how this movie nearly destroyed my turtle love . As often happens, I roughly share the AVGN’s opinion.

I actually remember not being able to watch the 3rd Turtle movie when it was in the theater. My memory is kind of hazy, but I think I just walked out. Kids don’t tend to have high standards, but I remember actually walking out of the theater. That’s how disappointed I was in the movie. It was almost a defining moment for me, when I realized that the franchise had played itself out, and was just getting cornier and more “kid-oriented.” By the third installment, the series lost whatever edge it had. It was like learning that Santa Claus isn’t real (spoiler alert!). And yes, the previous movies actually did have some edge to them. Partly because of that, I still watch the 1st and 2nd TMNT movies at least once a year, and also own a few volumes of the old cartoon series.

As the AVGN notes, the movies failed to utilize the characters in the TV show — particularly the third movie. In fact, they didn’t even develop characters similar to those in the movie, or the Archie Series comic book. There was no Krang, no Rat King, Baxter Stockman or Slash. It would have been cool to see Mondo Gecko, Cudley the Cowlick (whose first name I had to look up again, I must admit), or about Wingnut and Screwloose? Remember Man-Ray (AKA “Ray Fillet”)? Null wasn’t in there, either. Nobody!

Then there are the turtles. As our review notes:
“Just look at the turtles. They look like shit!”

Leave a Reply

